UFC 109: Relentless – Thoughts and Results

For a card that everyone assumed was going to be “average” – UFC 109 was pretty good, a lot better than I thought it would be and my predictions weren’t too bad as well.

So let’s start off with the first fight on the main card

Frank Trigg Vs Matt Serra

Knockout of the Night? Possibly. It’s definitely between this fight and Paul Thiago Vs Mike Swick. It’s interesting, but I don’t think Trigg looked to bad in the fight. However, his inability to push the fight forward was his downfall and Serra was able to capitalize on that and get inside Trigg and knock him clean out.

Fight Rating – 7/10

Demian Maia Vs Dan Miller

This was a slightly boring fight. It defiantly didn’t go the way I expected it to go though. I was pretty certain that someone was going to be tapped out, but at the end of the day two very good grappler’s cancelled each other out. However, I did not see Demian Maia out=striking Dan Miller. Maia can go home after that fight and know that the one part of his game that was obviously lacking in the Marquardt fight and in the majority of his fights has certainly improved.

Fight Rating – 6/10

Paulo Thiago Vs Mike Swick

I didn’t want to believe the hype. I wanted to believe that Swick was going to let his hands fly and knockout Paulo Thiago, but I was definitely wrong. I’ve definitely been converted and officially jumped on the bandwagon. Paulo Thiago is an absolute beast and proved that his knockout of Josh Koshcheck was not a fluke. This guy is lethal. Lots of respect to Swick too as he didn’t just stand there and take a beating, he went in and gave a good account of himself.

Fight Rating – 7.5/10

Nate Marquardt vs. Chael Sonnen

I’m not going to deny it, I’m biased. I love Nate Marquardt. His work ethic is certainly something I respect and aspire to in my own form of work. So when he got beaten by Chael Sonnen, it actually broke my heart. I haven’t wanted someone to win so badly since Frank Mir Vs Brock Lesnar II. However, I’ll give credit where credits due and Chael Sonnen was an absolute beast with his takedowns and ground and pound. Now that Chael Sonnen is the number 1# contender for the Middleweight title, do I think he’ll be able to beat Anderson Silva or Vitor Belfort? I’ll save that for another blog…

Fight Rating – 8.5/10 – Fight of the night

Randy Couture Vs Mark Coleman

This was the big fight of the night and it was pretty good. Couture brought some serious jabs and Coleman looked out of place. Firstly, in the first few minutes, he decided to keep his hands down whilst Couture was jabbing him to death. Then obviously Couture pinned him to the cage to do his Greco-Roman wrestling and once Coleman was taken down, we all knew what the outcome would be. Was quite impressed with Couture’s Rear-Naked Choke as he locked it in expertly. Coleman was and is a legend in the sport, but he needs to retire as he’s certainly past it.

MMA UK’s  Fight Of The Night

Chael Sonnen Vs Nate Marquardt

1 Comment

  1. i told you Thiago was gonna do one on swick =P
    great reviews of the fight, look forward to ur next lot of predictions as well as the reviews always nice to hear someone else’s oppion.

    Alex


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

