The Day Frank Mir Broke My Heart…

 

Frank Mir is one of my favourite fighters of all time. The man has undoubted skill and constantly strives to better himself. After the Lesnar fight, he re-evaluated his whole game, put on a lot of muscle and strengthened his boxing. However, I really love his attitude. 

Check out these interviews he did with MMA Weekly regarding all of these after his fight with Cheick Kongo. 

Mir talks boxing, possible interim title match against Shane Carwin and Brock Lesnar 

Mir talks about bulking up 

However, this week Mir crossed the line with his comments. Everyone knows about the issues between Frank Mir and Brock Lesnar. These are two fighters who really don’t like each other. However, Mir’s comments were one of the most disturbing and sickening things I’ve read ever, when it comes to sport. It really left me and a bunch of other fans with a really bad feeling in their stomach. 

Mir was on WXDX radio and had this to say; 

“A lot of individuals are so worried about being politically correct,” Mir said. “I’d rather go ahead and say what’s on my mind than to sit there and come up with some PC, ‘Oh, the guy is a great fighter and I have a lot of respect for him’. If I don’t mean it, why is it even coming out of my mouth? I want to fight Lesnar. I hate who he is as a person. I want to break his neck in the ring. I want him to be the first person that dies due to Octagon-related injuries. That’s what’s going through my mind. –  Words taken from Fightline.com 

Audio for the interview  

After the way Lesnar conducted himself after he beat Mir, I despised Lesnar. He was arrogant and acted disgraceful, making the sport that we love seem chauvinistic and deplorable. I wasn’t freaked out by it though. Mir’s comments have really struck me. For nearly a year, all I’ve wanted to see was a re-match between these two, but I’m not so sure anymore. I mean it’s amazing for the hype machine, but it’s all got a bit too uncomfortable and personal. Both men have children, families, friends etc. To wish death upon another human being, actually hurt me personally. 

I can’t speak for any other fan, but I looked up to Mir as I see him as a man who constantly tries to better himself and accepts his victories and defeats with grace and respect. Now I just feel like a disappointed child, who has been let down by his father… 

 

The man I once admired...

7 Comments

  1. Mir seems to be following the age of creed of “If you can’t beat them, join them; then beat them.”

    He’s gone from a well spoken, if slightly arrogant, champion to a hateful, violent fighter. The obsession he has over Lesnar is puzzling to me but, to paraphrase Nietzsche: when you fight monsters you’d best make sure you don’t turn into one.

  2. sick article man,guy has no compassion,whats lesnars situation now,can he return?

  3. Lesnar is coming back yeah, making his return in the summer from what I’ve understood. We’ll see if the ring-rust will fuck him up or if he’s ready to scream “beefcake!” and spazz out again.

  4. I think Mir’s comments are justified. He is extremely passionate about what he does and he’s using volatile language to show that. He says he wants Lesnar dead, but the reality is it’s very unlikely to ever happen to anyone in the octagon in all seriousness. It’s just talk man. If i got my face smashed in as bad as Mir did I’d want to kill Lesnar. He could’ve said alot worse. And what really matters is that I still look up to Mir.

  5. Whether or not Mir actually means what he says or is just working the hype machine is speculation. To be fair Muhammad Ali also made claims to kill his opponents (hell, just look at When We Were Kings) but most of us are ok with that. I think it’s about how he said it and not really what he said and it should come to no surprise to anyone that Mir isn’t as charismatic or witty as Ali.

    My point, I guess, is that Mir doesn’t come off in a good light after these comments because he’s not the kind of person we’d expect to hear say it. As previously stated I feel that he’s taken on all the worst traits of Lesnar in his campaign to destroy him.

    Hell at this point I wouldn’t be surprised if their next fight looks like the final showdown in Return of The Jedi.

  6. Agree with you Dre, its quite sick to say things all like that to your opponents. You might argue that is part of the game, or ‘mind games’ or whatever, but once he is on that ring, it will be a different scenario. He will be looking to do the same.

  7. I couldn’t believe what I’d read but as soon as I did I just wanted to see another match between the two, but that would only be so Lesnar could beat the holy hell out of him. I’m still hoping for a Carwin win next saturday though, what an event that’s going to be


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

