UFC 110 Opinions and Thoughts

After watching UFC 110, I can’t say I was very happy with my predictions on who would win.I got 2 out of 5 fights correct and I’m a little disappointed in myself. I’m definitely going to have to research each fighter a little bit more beforehand.  My knowledge of the sport is pretty good, but obviously I need to freshen up. Certain fighters were incredibly impressive.

Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipović vs Anthony Perosh

Yes, I predicted that Cro Cop would win and there were many factors into why I believed he would. The two most important factors being experience and weight. Cro Cop has fought some of the best fighters that the MMA world has ever seen. He’s lost some and won some, but at the end of the day when you fight against the best, there’s nothing you can do but improve. Sadly, Perosh can’t boast the same thing.

As Perosh was a late replacement for Ben Rothwell, their was a huge weight difference between both fighters.  I mean Perosh usually fights in the light-heavyweight division. As you could tell by his attempts at takedowns, Perosh just didn’t have the power to take down Cro Cop.

As I said before, I predicted Cro Cop to win the fight. However, I didn’t expect such a lackluster performance. In an interview, he claimed that he felt bad for his opponent as he stepped in late. I say that’s either garbage or he’s a fool. He had a chance at adding to his highlight reel of head kick finishes, which would’ve boosted up in the heavyweight ranks, but yet again Cro Cop looks slow and pretty poor compared most UFC Heavyweights.

Fight Rating – 4/10

Keith Jardine Vs Ryan Bader

The Jardine vs Bader fight was certainly a test of wills. I was impressed by both men and their stand-up skills. I think what clinched it for Bader (who was quite obviously running out of gas by the time it hit the third round) was his takedown offense. This isn’t to say that Jardine’s takedown defence is poor, as he spars with a well respected wrestler in Rashad Evans at Greg Jackson’s gym. However, he couldn’t handle the young, unbeaten Ryan Bader.

Bader certainly looked good within the fight, but he needs to work on his cardio a bit more as I don’t see him lasting 5 rounds, simply because of his all or nothing approach to fighting. I’d like to see him fight either Brandon Vera, Jon Jones or Thiago Silva. He claims he wants to be test and I certainly believe those are sufficient enough tests for him.

Fight Rating – 6/10

George Sotiropolous Vs Joe Stevenson

For those that don’t know about MMA, it could like a blood sport. To them, it’s two human-beings beating the crap out of each other. What they don’t realize is that MMA is art. Sounds strange doesn’t it? The two main facets to MMA is the stand-up game and the ground-game. This fight was something to show kids who want to learn Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and have skills on the ground.

Going into this fight,  I thought Joe Stevenson would completely dominate Sotiropolous, but Sotiropolous was magnificent. He out-boxed Stevenson and when Stevenson managed to get a takedown, Sotiropolous popped out a rubberguard, as soon as he hit the ground. Is Sotiropolous a main contender for BJ Penn’s’ title? Not yet, but give him two more of the top lightweight brass and we’ll certainly find out.

Fight Rating – 8/10

Wanderlei Silva Vs Michael Bisping

Good back and forth fight between these two fighters. I agree with Bisping that he won the first 2 rounds, but I can also see the argument as to why the judges may have given the points to Wanderlei as he ended each round (especially the the last 2 rounds) very strong. I’m sure Bisping can learn from this fight in particular and up his game. He’s a well-rounded fighter, but it seems as if when he goes against the top-brass fighters, he loses out.

Fight Rating – 6.5/10

Cain Velasquez Vs Anthony Rodrigo Nogueria

What else can we say about Cain Velasquez. I believe in my predictions I said that I don’t believe he has “Knockout Power”. When I saw the knockout,  I couldn’t believe it. I don’t really think there’s much I can say about this fight as it was so quick. It just proved to me that Velasquez, might just be the biggest dark horse in the run for the Heavyweight title.

As fo Nogueria, I don’t want to say anything to harsh as he’s still a legend in this sport and certainly one of the first heavyweights to show great ground skills in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. However, Nogueria was also known for taking mass amounts of damage during his fights. Sadly for him, I don’t think his chin can handle it anymore.

Fight of the Night – George Sotiropolous vs Joe Stevenson

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

