Interview With One of the Most Exciting Lightweight Fighters in the WEC, Anthony Pettis

There are a few Lightweight Fighters in the WEC, that I truly believe could make a huge impact in the UFC’s incredibly deep Lightweight division. One of those fighters is Anthony Pettis. There isn’t much I can say about Pettis as I truly believe that his fighting style proves why he’s such a popular fighter. He isn’t called “Showtime” for nothing people.

Hey Anthony, congratulations on your win against Shane Roller at WEC 50. You two seemed to have an absolute war against each other. Do you feel as if your training camp prepared you well enough for a tough opponent in Shane Roller?

Yes, training camp went great. It showed in the fight!!!

For those of us who don’t know much about you, can you tell us a bit about your background?

I’ve been doing Martial arts my whole life started with TKD (Tae Kwon Do) and boxing. I lost my Dad in a house robbery when I was 16 and then I started fighting at the age of 20.

How did you get into MMA and what was the first fight that you saw that really interested you?

Duke Roufus started me. However, I was always a fan of the sport.

What does a normal training session consist of for you?

Pads, strength and conditioning, Jits, MMA, Sparring

 

You won your first fight as a fighter in 36 seconds. How surprised were you that it finished so quickly?

I always look for the finish, but it felt a lot longer (laughs).

After amassing a 6-0 record in the MMA scene in Milwaukee, you went to the WEC. Were you nervous to make your debut?

I was very nervous, but I am confident in my skills.

Your first loss was against Bart Palaszewski via split decision. Many say that you learn more from a loss than you do from a win. What has been the biggest thing you’ve learnt from that loss?

I learned to never let the fight go 2 the judges.

You’re one of the most exciting fighters in any of the divisions in MMA. How do you feel about wrestlers who lay and pray and how do you feel your style matches up against fighters who have that style of fighting.

I hate that fight style but i feel you have to be prepared for anything. I match up well against any fighter and I am focused on becoming the most complete fighter I can be.

 

Rumour has it that you’re facing Ben Henderson next for his WEC lightweight title. He’s a dynamic fighter as well. How would you approach a fight with Henderson?

Train for everything. I am looking forward to a challenge like him.

 

In my opinion, you have one of the most dangerous guards in any division in MMA. In contrast to that you also have some of the most flamboyant and explosive strikes in the lightweight division. Where did you develop both styles?

Red Schafer and I always working on new things. My striking style comes from a TKD background and Duke Roufus.

You’ve finished your opponents in various ways, whether it be submission, TKO or KO. How do you prefer to finish your opponents?

Anything that makes the fans come back!!!

Anthony, thanks so much for your time. Is there anyone you’d like to thank?

Roufusport and everyone who supports me.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

