UFC 124 Predictions

Thiago Alves Vs John Howard

This is going to be an absolute war if I’ve ever seen one – well I hope so. Both these fighters are stand-up fighters and both will be looking for the Knockout. It’s hard going to be hard to predict who knows out, but I was definitely impressed by the toughness of Howard after he took some serious ground strikes from Jake Ellenberger.

We all know that Alves had troubles recently with hitting 170 pounds, so will he be slowed down or have trouble with his cardio? I’m not sure. I’m going to go on a limb and give Howard the win by TKO, but it could go either way

 

Joe Stevenson Vs Mac Danzig

Mac Danzig has probably been one of the unluckiest TUF winners as he’s faced some list of impressive and tough competitors and lost out nearly every time. I felt incredibly bad for him with his fight against Matt Wiman as Yves Lavigne had an absolute nightmare and called the fight way too early. It’s not going to get easier for Danzig as he faces Joe Stevenson, who certainly isn’t a push over either. Steveson got absolutely destroyed by the savage that is George Sotiropoulous, but I’m going to give this fight to Stevenson. He’s a better fighter than Danzig and I feel as if he’s got more tools in his shed.

 

Jim Miller Vs Charles Oliveira

This could definitely be “Fight Of The Night”, but I could just be bias as it’s the fight I’m looking forward to the most. Both fighters are good, young prospects and have similar styles. Both fighters w3ill look to finish the fight and it could definitely be a war. I’d like to see Oliveira continue up the ladder, but he’s got to lose sometime and I wouldn’t be too surprised if he lost to Jim Miller. Miller is a tank of the a lightweight and has as much skills as Oliveira, with more experience against better fighters. I’m going for a Jim Miller win.

 

Sean McCorkle Vs Stefan Struve

Did anyone see Stefan Struve at the Weigh-Ins? The Skyscraper looks like he’s packing on the pounds and I think that’s bad news for McCorkle. Struve is a better than him on the ground and might be a better striker. The only way I see McCorkle winning is if he has a punch on the levels of Junior Dos Santos or Roy Nelson, which I highly doubt. Struve proved how tough he was in his last fight where he was PUNISHED in the first round then obliterated his opponent quickly in the second round.  I don’t think McCorkle can finish him.

 

Georges St Pierre Vs Josh Koscheck

I’m a huge Georges St Pierre fan. He’s a fantastic champion, great ambassador for the sport and an incredibly well rounded fighter. Which is why it disturbs to me to say that there is a feeling, in the pit of my gut that he’s going to lose tonight. It’s too perfect a scenario. In his home country, in his home town, in a stadium packed with his fans, chanting “GSP! GSP! GSP!”, that smells like a loss to me.

Josh Koscheck is a much well-rounded fighter than he was last time and I think that’s going to possibly be difficult for GSP to finish him. I had a dream last night that Koscheck beat St Pierre, and I think I’m going to stick with that dream.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

